Increased store visits thanks to Drive-to-Store marketing: cable network operator UNITYMEDIA reaches store visit rates of up to 27%

Local retail marketing plays an important role in increasing store visit frequency and building revenue in the approximately 150 so-called “own” and “branded” stores in which Unitymedia is represented. In addition, Unitymedia is also represented in several large outlets (such as MediaMarktSaturn, Conrad, Real) and specialist shops (such as Mobilcom-Debitel).
The challenge

Unitymedia is noticeably affected by the pressure from online trade and fluctuations in local store visit frequency. Due to the changing ways we are using media and the associated decrease in the efficiency of traditional advertising, Unitymedia is looking for new ways to reach new and existing customers, and wants to increase both the visibility of its stores and the number of store visits. Unitymedia’s stores need efficient frequency drivers which reach customers with the right message at the perfect point in the customer journey, and which measurably increase the store visit rate.

The approach

In collaboration with the Offerista Group, experts in digital retail marketing, since December 2018 Unitymedia has been relying on a mix of digital push-and-pull channels to increase the store visit frequency. Wide-reaching, cross-channel advertising campaigns have been implemented to highlight seasonal peaks (e.g. Easter, Christmas), to communicate promotional events (such as Black Friday, Cyber Monday), and to target specific consumer groups (such as back-to-school campaigns), in addition to communicating current offers. Geo-targeting and interest-based targeting enable the communication of local offers to existing customers and potential new customers (including lookalikes) in the vicinity of stores. In order to maximise the campaign’s ROAS, smart algorithms are used to optimise cross-channel communication in accordance with store visit rates.

The results

Unitymedia’s stores work in different ways – as is shown by the Offerista Group’s 8-month cross-channel campaign. The campaign achieved a store visit rate of up to 27% (an uplift of 87% within the campaign period). The best conversion rates were achieved within a 2-5km radius of the stores. At Unitymedia’s own stores, the catchment area was even larger. Overall, a ROAS of 394% was achieved.

* Store visit up to 7 days after advertising contact

“We are investing a large proportion of our budget in digital channels. Therefore, it is essential that they can demonstrate the effect we want. The Offerista Group is a strong partner, helping us to grow our store visit frequency and significantly increase the reach of our promotions.”

Ulrike Moll

Senior Marketing Manager / Trade Marketing - Unitymedia


About Offerista Group
As a shopper marketing network, Offerista Group GmbH offers tailored digital solutions for the location-based marketing of offers and branches. Offerista implements cross-channel campaigns to ensure that advertising messages are transported across a wide range of user-relevant channels. We make consumers so curious about products that they go to the shops and buy them. With a team of more than 120 employees throughout Europe, Offerista provides cross-channel support for retailer and manufacturer brands across all industries at every point in the customer journey. In addition to its headquarters in Dresden, it has further sites in Berlin, Essen, Vienna, Sofia, Budapest and Bucharest. The managing directors are Tobias Bräuer and Benjamin Thym.
Press contact Offerista Group:
Nicole Bucher
+49 (0) 351 41 88 94 41
nicole.bucher@offerista.com

Mehr Ladenbesuche durch Drive-to-Store Marketing: Kabelnetzbetreiber Unitymedia erreicht Store Visit Raten von bis zu 27%

Lokales Handelsmarketing spielt für Unitymedia eine wichtige Rolle, um die Frequenz und die Umsätze in den ca. 150 sogenannten „own“ und „branded“ Stores, in denen Unitymedia vertreten ist, zu steigern. Zusätzlich ist Unitymedia auch auf der Großfläche (wie z.B. MediaMarktSaturn, Conrad, Real) und im Fachhandel (wie z. B. Mobilcom-Debitel ) zahlreich vertreten.
Die Herausforderung

Der Druck des Online-Handels und Frequenzschwankung in den lokalen Geschäften sind für Unitymedia deutlich spürbar. Durch die veränderte Mediennutzung und die dadurch bedingte Abnahme der Effizienz traditioneller Werbemedien sucht Unitymedia nach neuen Wegen, um Neu- und Bestandskunden zu erreichen und sowohl Sichtbarkeit der Shops auch die Anzahl der Ladenbesuche zu steigern. Die Shops von Unitymedia brauchen und suchen daher effiziente Frequenztreiber, die Kunden genau im richtigen Moment der Customer Journey mit der passenden Botschaft erreichen und die Ladenbesuchsrate messbar erhöhen.

Der Ansatz

Gemeinsam mit der Offerista Group, Experte für digitales Handelsmarketing, setzt Unitymedia seit 12/2018 auf einen Mix aus digitalen Push- und Pull- Kanälen, um die lokale Frequenz zu steigern. Saisonsale Peaks (z. B. Ostern, Weihnachten), Aktionskommunikation (wie z. B. Black Friday, Cyber Monday) sowie zielgruppenspezifische Anlässe (wie z. B. Semesterstart) werden zusätzlich zur laufenden Angebotskommunikation reichweitenstark und kanalübergreifend beworben. Mittels Geo- und Interessentargeting werden die lokalen Angebote bei Kunden und potentiellen Neukunden (u.a. Lookalikes) im Umkreis der Stores ausgespielt und mittels intelligenter Algorithmen kanalübergreifend nach Ladenbesuchsraten optimiert, um den ROAS der Kampagne zu maximieren.

Die Ergebnisse

Die Stores von Unitymedia ticken unterschiedlich – das zeigt die 8-monatige Cross-Channel-Kampagne der Offerista Group. Die Kampagne erzielte eine Store Visit Rate von bis zu 27% (+87% Uplift innerhalb des Kampagnenzeitraums). Die besten Conversionraten wurde im Umkreis von 2-5km um die Geschäfte erzielt. Bei own stores ist das Einzugsgebiet sogar noch größer. Insgesamt wurde ein ROAS von 394% erreicht.

* Ladenbesuch bis 7 Tage nach Werbekontakt

“Wir investieren einen hohen Anteil unseres Budgets in digitale Kanäle. Deshalb ist es essentiell, dass diese die gewünschte Wirkung zeigen. Mit der Offerista Group haben wir einen starken Partner an unserer Seite, um die Frequenz unserer Stores zu steigern und die Reichweite unserer  Aktionsangebote deutlich zu erhöhen.“

Ulrike Moll

Senior Marketing Manager / Trade Marketing - Unitymedia


Über die  Offerista Group
Als Shopper Marketing Network bietet die Offerista Group GmbH individuell ausgerichtete, digitale Lösungen für standortbasiertes Angebots- und Filialmarketing. Mit Cross-Channel Kampagnen werden Werbebotschaften reichweitenstark über verschiedene nutzerrelevante Kanäle transportiert. Konsumenten werden so neugierig auf Produkte gemacht, dass sie in die Läden gehen und kaufen. Mit einem Team von mehr als 120 Mitarbeitern in Europa begleitet und berät Offerista die Handels- und Herstellermarken aus allen Branchen kanalübergreifend entlang ihrer Customer Journey. Zusätzlich zum Hauptsitz in Dresden zählen Berlin, Essen, Wien, Sofia, Budapest und Bukarest als weitere Standorte. Geschäftsführer sind Tobias Bräuer und Benjamin Thym.

Pressekontakt Offerista Group:
Nicole Bucher
+49 (0) 351 41 88 94 41
nicole.bucher@offerista.com