wogibtswas.at offers a digital compact solution for multichannel retailing after lockdown

The COVID-19 pandemic began to affect retail businesses in spring 2020. The re-opening of local shops after lockdown has proven a significant turning point for the development of economic success in the retail industry. wogibtswas.at has been supporting the Douglas perfumery chain during these challenge times with a new focus on multichannel retailing. The customer objective comprises two areas: a) activation of the online shop and b) increasing frequency of in-store visits.

The approach

The aim of the campaign was to quickly generate high traffic, both in the online shop directly after launch and in the re-opened Douglas stores. For both of these different sales channels, wogibtswas.at and customers decided to use push notifications as its proven compact solution. This tool allows specific target groups to be addressed. In doing so, both objectives could be factored in at the same time.

For targeted online and offline activation, the push notification consisted of:

  1. the optimum user segment consisting of:
    wogibtswas.at app users who have previously visited a Douglas store and are interested in the drugstore sector.
  2. the implementation of store visits technology for tracking customer frequency in stores.
  3. adapting the measurement period to four days and restricting the time permitted in store (from five to 60 minutes).

The results

Four days after sending the push notification, the following results could be evaluated:

  • Result A, online: An opening rate of 34.35% was achieved through the targeted and individual control of the Douglas campaign. This value is significantly above the benchmark for the drugstore sector (20-25%). Additional losses were avoided by linking the push notifications to the online shop and total number of click-outs were directed straight to the online shop.
  • Result B, offline: The store visit evaluation showed that 14% of unique users who opened the push notification then visited a store. Since the chosen method of push notifications clearly communicated the desired advertising message even without opening it, a total of 17% of all push recipients were motivated to visit a Douglas store.

It is important to us to reach the right target group to avoid additional losses. With wogibtswas.at, we have found a strong partner who is able to significantly increase the frequency of visits both online and in store with specific targeting.

Christian Eckhardt

Authorised representative/E-commerce manager


About Offerista Group
As a shopper marketing network, Offerista Group GmbH offers tailored digital solutions for the location-based marketing of offers and branches. Offerista implements cross-channel campaigns to ensure that advertising messages are transported across a wide range of user-relevant channels. We make consumers so curious about products that they go to the shops and buy them. With a team of more than 120 employees throughout Europe, Offerista provides cross-channel support for retailer and manufacturer brands across all industries at every point in the customer journey. In addition to its headquarters in Dresden, it has further sites in Berlin, Essen, Vienna, Sofia, Budapest and Bucharest. The managing directors are Tobias Bräuer and Benjamin Thym.
Press contact Offerista Group:
Nicole Bucher
+49 (0) 351 41 88 94 41
nicole.bucher@offerista.com

WOGIBTSWAS.AT BIETET EINE DIGITALE KOMPAKTLÖSUNG FÜR DEN MULTICHANNEL-HANDEL NACH DEM SHUTDOWN

Die Herausforderung

Im Frühjahr 2020 trifft die COVID-19-Krise die Handelslandschaft. Die Umsetzung der Wiedereröffnung lokaler Läden nach dem “Shutdown” erweist sich als entscheidender Wendepunkt für den Verlauf des wirtschaftlichen Erfolgs im Einzelhandel. In dieser herausfordernden Zeit unterstützt wogibtswas.at die Douglas Parfümerie im Rahmen einer neuen Multichannel-Handels-Ausrichtung. Die Zielvorgabe des Kunden umfasste zwei Bereiche: a) die Aktivierung des Online-Shops und b) die Frequenzsteigerung in den Filialen.

Der Ansatz

Ziel der Kampagne war es, schnell hohen Traffic zu generieren, sowohl im Online-Shop direkt nach Launch als auch in den wiedereröffneten Douglas-Läden. Für beide unterschiedliche Vertriebskanäle entschied sich wogibtswas.at zusammen mit dem Kunden für Push Notifications als bewährte Kompaktlösung. Dieses Tool ermöglicht den Einsatz einer definierten Zielgruppenansprache. Dadurch können beide Zielvorgaben zeitgleich berücksichtigt werden.

  1. Für die zielgerichtete On- und Offline-Aktivierung setzte sich die Push Notification zusammen aus: dem optimalen User Segment bestehend aus: wogibtswas.at-App-Nutzern, die sich zuvor in einer Douglas-Filiale aufgehalten
    haben und an der Drogerie-Branche interessiert sind.
  2. der Implementierung der Store Visits Technologie zur nachgehenden Messung der Kundenfrequenz im Geschäft.
  3. der Anpassung des Messzeitraums auf vier Tage und der Eingrenzung der zulässigen Filial-Aufenthaltsdauer (mindestens fünf bis maximal 60 Minuten).
Die Ergebnisse

Vier Tage nach dem Versand der Push-Nachricht konnten folgende Ergebnisse evaluiert werden:

  • Ergebnis A, online: Durch die zielgerichtete und individuelle Aussteuerung der Kampagne für Douglas wurde eine Öffnungsrate von 34,35% erreicht. Diese liegt deutlich über der Benchmark im Bereich Drogerie (20-25%). Durch eine Verlinkung der Push Notifications in den Onlineshop, wurde ein weiterer Streuverlust
    vermieden, und die gesamte Anzahl an Click-Outs direkt in den Onlineshop geleitet.
  • Ergebnis B, offline: Die Store Visit Messung zeigte, dass 14% derjenigen Unique User, die den Push geöffnet hatten auch in einer Filiale nachgewiesen werden konnten. Da das gewählte Werbemittel der Push Notification die gewünschte Werbebotschaft auch ohne Öffnung klar und deutlich kommunizierte, konnten insgesamt 17% aller Push-Empfänger zu einem Besuch in einer Douglas Filiale
    motiviert werden.

“Es ist uns wichtig, die richtige Zielgruppe anzusprechen um Streuverluste zu vermeiden. Mit wogibtswas.at haben wir einen starken Partner, der mit gezieltem Targeting sowohl online in unserem Shop als auch offline in unsere Filialen nachweislich die Frequenz erhöht.””

Christian Eckhardt

Prokurist / E-Commerce Manager


Über die  Offerista Group
Als Shopper Marketing Network bietet die Offerista Group GmbH individuell ausgerichtete, digitale Lösungen für standortbasiertes Angebots- und Filialmarketing. Mit Cross-Channel Kampagnen werden Werbebotschaften reichweitenstark über verschiedene nutzerrelevante Kanäle transportiert. Konsumenten werden so neugierig auf Produkte gemacht, dass sie in die Läden gehen und kaufen. Mit einem Team von mehr als 120 Mitarbeitern in Europa begleitet und berät Offerista die Handels- und Herstellermarken aus allen Branchen kanalübergreifend entlang ihrer Customer Journey. Zusätzlich zum Hauptsitz in Dresden zählen Berlin, Essen, Wien, Sofia, Budapest und Bukarest als weitere Standorte. Geschäftsführer sind Tobias Bräuer und Benjamin Thym.

Pressekontakt Offerista Group:
Nicole Bucher
+49 (0) 351 41 88 94 41
nicole.bucher@offerista.com